DVD Reviews “Quick Hits”

This week it is 4 movies all above the 5.0 mark………..How did this happen?

Wall-E – 10/10 (An often over looked Pixar movie, Wall-E exceeded my already high expectations. A great love story about a robot put in charge of the clean up of earth, it has more emotional depth (with much less dialogue) then most live action movies do.  This is a monumental achievement both visually and story wise and is everything that perfect film making has.  intriguing lead, stunning visuals and a great story with perfect pacing.  What else can I really say except that Pixar has churned out another hit.  I will keep my eyes peeled for their next installment.)

American Gangster – 6.5/10   (I expected more from this star studded cast and great director, but I guess there is only so much that you can do with a movie based on true events.  It is not to take anything away from great performances from both Denzel Washington and Russell Crowe, but they were limited by the fairly uninteresting story of Frank Lucas (played by Denzel) and his drug empires rise and fall in Harlem, in the late 60’s/early 70’s.  I would give this one a pass on it until you can watch it on TBS.)

Bourne Ultimatum – 6/10 (I have never been a real fan of this series and thus it took me quite awhile to finally watch the last movie. It didn’t wow/surprise/overly entertain me. The shaky camera/ hyper camera work gets a little old after awhile and I had a hard time investing myself in the plot line. I know I am in the minority when it comes to this film but I think it is a lot of style over substance.)

Transsiberian – 7.5/10 (Smuggling drugs is never a good idea, especially when you are doing it in Russia. This movie follows a married couple (played by Woody Harrelson & Emily Mortimer) as they venture across the Russian tundra by train. They end up making the wrong kind of friends on the train and it all falls apart from there. There is enough intrigue and mystery to keep you locked in to the whole movie.)

Leave a Reply

