5 Questions with Eddie Griffin

by Ryan Meehan

Eddie Griffin is one of the most popular comedians in the world.  He is widely know for his comedic roles in such films as “Undercover Brother” and “Scary Movie 3” in addition to his dramatic role opposite Denzel Washington in the 2002 film “John Q”.  A Kansas City native, Griffin has appeared on both of Dr. Dre’s “The Chronic” albums and got his start choreographing the halftime shows at Chiefs games.  Eddie has a stage presence that most comics would kill for, and First Order Historians is extremely lucky to have him as a guest this week in 5 Questions.

RM:  After just two months of moving to LA to pursue doing standup comedy, you suddenly found yourself opening up for Andrew Dice Clay at Madison Square Garden.  Were you ready for the pressure of doing arenas right away?

EG:   Yes. – When you’re young, you’re fearless, so I was not only ready but I was excited as hell to be opening to such a big crowd.

RM:  Could you tell us a little bit about your music?

EG:   My music is funk, soul, & Rock N’ Roll all in one.  I do it because I love it, not for professional reasons.

RM:  What made you decide to shoot “Dysfunktional Family” as both a standup special and a documentary?

EG:  I wanted people to see that my standup wasn’t made up.  I wanted my fans to see the people I was talkin’ about in my act, so I thought there was no better way to do it.  It was really before the whole reality thing jumped off, so in a way, it was before its time.

RM:  How do you think comedy has changed since you first started performing?

EG:  I don’t really see anybody doing it like the greats – Richard Pryor, Bill Cosby, Redd Foxx, Lenny Bruce.  These days comedians are just tellin’ jokes.  They’re not storytellers.

RM:  What’s coming up next for you in 2011?

EG:  My new comedy special “You Can Tell ‘Em I said It” will air on Comedy Central in February, along with the release of the DVD.  I’m excited to see how it’s received.

Eddie’s Website:  www.eddiegriffin.com

Eddie on one of the original episodes of Def Comedy Jam:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zly7Fuep5KU

Opening Scene of “Dysfunktional Family”:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ztw-PgVQth4

Additional Television Interview Link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkN2DIBrXqQ&feature=related

Eddie on IMDB:  http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0341176/

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the internet’s finest in user generated content.

Meehan

2 thoughts on “5 Questions with Eddie Griffin

Leave a Reply

