5 QUESTIONS WITH ADRIENNE IAPALUCCI

By Ryan Meehan

Born and bred in the Bronx, Adrienne Iapalucci’s skewed look on life is reflected in her unique brand of intelligent comedy. Her dark sense of humor is enhanced by her political incorrectness, and counteracted by her love of puppies.  Comedy fans might recognize Adrienne by her performances as a semifinalist on season 7 of NBC’s Last Comic Standing.  In 2009, Adrienne won the First-ever People’s Choice Opening Act Competition, and got the opportunity to perform at NYC’s Town Hall Theater for 1400 people as part of the New York Comedy Festival. She was also a semifinalist in “New York’s Funniest Stand-Up Contest”, also part of the New York Comedy Festival, and was the runner-up in the 2009 New York Underground Comedy Festival’s “Best of the Boroughs” contest.  Later on that summer Adrienne made her International debut as part of the Just For Laughs Comedy Festival in Montreal.  Adrienne has been featured in the Daily News, New York Times and Stage Time Magazine. She was named by Huffington Post as one of their 53 Favorite Female Comedians and “Top 18 Women You Should be Following on Twitter.” She was also featured as performer in the satirical documentary “Women Aren’t Funny”.  Adrienne can be seen performing throughout New York City and colleges across the country, and she’s our guest today in 5 Questions. 


RM:  You grew up in the Morris Park section of the Bronx, how much of growing up in that neighborhood is responsible for the sense of humor that you have today?  Do you have any stories about how you were able to use your humor to tackle a difficult situation growing up?

AI: Growing up in the Bronx you have to learn how to tolerate so many different personalities. In my house we handled it with humor. One time I asked my next door neighbor to hold some money for me because we were at a store and I had no pockets for the change I received. Later when I asked her for the money back she claimed I never gave it to her. So my mom and I went over to her house and asked her for the money in front of her mother. She again said I never gave it to her and from that point on started a family feud.  So my parents, my sister and I handled it the only way we knew how. An onslaught of funny impressions of everyone in their family. We were relentless.

RM:  Is calling your humor “dark” the most accurate way that you would describe your comedy?  What happened at Rosie’s Place on October 30th, 2012?  Did you have any idea that your performance would illicit that sort of response?

AI: That’s a loaded question. How do you go from asking me if my humor is dark to what happened a show I did last year? You can say my humor is dark, but I just like to say it’s funny. They are my observations about the stuff I see and experience.

What didn’t happen at Rosie’s place? A bunch of rich ladies asked me to come to Boston to do a show for a great cause. I drove up to Boston the day Hurricane Sandy hit because I didn’t want to cancel on them.  They went over my material weeks in advance, but suddenly while on stage they decided the material we spoke about wasn’t fit for their audience. I disagree. We were having a good time, but they decided to cut it short. Comedy is subjective and I guess in this case they were more worried about image than making people laugh. I certainly won’t apologize for anything I did.  If given the choice I would have preferred to perform in front of the women Rosie’s Place serves. They’d have a better sense of humor than some high society types.

RM:  You appeared on season seven of Last Comic Standing…What did that whole experience do for you and what was the most important thing you learned from being on that show?

AI: It gave unknowns like myself at the time a chance to be on national television. I wasn’t crazy about the whole contest part of it, but it was fun to do. I made some great relationships and I was able to get closer to a great person. Mike DeStefano. Probably wouldn’t have gotten to experience that even though he lived in my neck of the woods.

RM:  What do you consider to be poor taste when it comes to the material a comedian uses on stage?  Do you feel that sometimes you have to filter some of the things that you write because they are too off-color?

AI: I don’t think anything is in poor taste unless you are deliberately trying to be shocking or distasteful. Sometimes a comedian is on stage working stuff out and it might be misinterpreted as something its not. For the most part comedians are just looking for a way to to make something that’s not funny into something that is.

RM:  I read that it was your goal to either become a lawyer or a cast member of “Saturday Night Live”…Those are two very different career choices – Which one do you think that you have the best shot at out of the two?  And have you ever auditioned for that show?

AI: Have not auditioned for the show. I think when I said that I was a lot younger and barely into my career. What I’ve learned about myself is that I’m not exactly the sketchy type comedian. I do however have some great sketch ideas for that show. So who knows, maybe one day.

RM:  What’s up next for you in the remainder of 2013 and beyond?  Anything big in the works that we should know about?

AI: I perform regularly at The Stand Comedy Club in New York City.  I’ve written a couple of projects that I hope to put in motion this year. So I would stay tuned. Plenty more is yet to come.

Official Website:  http://adrienneiapalucci.com

Adrienne on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/AdrienneIapalucci

Adrienne on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/AIapalucci

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the internet’s finest in user generated content.

Meehan

3 thoughts on “5 QUESTIONS WITH ADRIENNE IAPALUCCI

  1. Pingback: David Letterman Leaves Late Night Television | First Order Historians

  2. Pingback: 10 Questions with Liz Barrett | First Order Historians

Leave a Reply

