5 QUESTIONS WITH ELYSE LEVESQUE

 

by Ryan Meehan

Realizing her passion and talent at a young age, actress Elyse Levesque was cast in the popular Canadian children series The Incredible Story Studio. Shortly after Levesque moved to Vancouver, British Columbia to pursue her dreams.  Since then, this Canadian queen has appeared in a variety of films and television shows starring alongside big names such as Keith David in Sons of Liberty, Mimi Rogers in Storm Cell, and Lou Diamond Phillips and Robert Carlyle in MGM Universal’s Stargate Universe. Levesque’s other credits include her notable role in Men In Trees, CW’s Smallville, and Warner Brother’s Journey to the Center of the Earth. She has also appeared in Canadian filmmaker Carl Bessai’s Normal, which went on to win Best Western Canadian Film at the 2007 Vancouver International Film Festival.  She was gracious enough to stop by as our guest today in 5 questions.

RM:  When did you decide to move to Vancouver to pursue a career in the entertainment industry?  Was the pace of that city a lot to handle or were you pretty well acclimated to that lifestyle when you arrived?

EL: I decided to make the move out to Vancouver in 2006! I just made up my mind one day that if acting was what I wanted to do with the rest of my life then I would have to situate myself in a city where the opportunities were happening. Vancouver had always appealed to me, so it seemed like an easy choice to make. I would have to say the pace of this city is an easy one to adjust to, it’s not as crazy as LA or some of the other cities I have traveled through in Europe and Asia. Vancouver has a very laid back vibe, which can actually be a dangerous thing if you’re trying to stay motivated. It’s definitely a good city to enjoy life in.

RM:  You have a couple of what I would consider to be science fiction credits…what is it about those roles that you are drawn to?  Do you feel that there is a part of you that has kind of a brainy side?

EL: So many science fiction shows shoot in Vancouver, so those are the roles that I’ve mostly gone out for. I don’t think I would have been drawn to those roles initially, but having done them has given me a great love and appreciation for the genre. It is a great genre because it allows women to be seen as strong, capable and intelligent….basically, showing the world that, yes, we too have brainy sides.

RM:  For those who may not be familiar, could you explain what the “Vagine Rhyme Time” is?

EL: But of course. “Vagine Rhyme Time” is a rap song that myself and two of my besties wrote and then made into a rather long-winded, hopefully hilarious, music video. Essentially we rhyme words with vagine (the “a” has been removed so that we can rhyme it with more words). So that’s it in a nutshell.

RM:  Could you tell us a little bit about the short film that you are producing?  Who are you working on that project with?

EL: I am currently producing and acting in a short film called “Fruitcake”. The film is inspired by the true story of a doctor who drove around America in a van in the late 40s early 50s, giving housewives lobotomies. Myself and my friend Erin Boyes came up with the idea for the short.

RM:  What types of outdoor activities do you partake in to stay in such amazing shape?

EL: I do a lot of yoga, which is mostly done indoors, but that’s my exercise go-to! When I’m in Vancouver I try to bike the seawall or go for hikes.

RM:  What stereotype of Canadians do you hate the most?  What about that stereotype makes you hate it so much?

EL: That we say “eh” all the time. I don’t really hate that it’s a stereotype, it’s just funny cause the only time I ever hear the word “eh” is when I’m in the States and someone is making fun of Canada.

RM:  What’s up next for Elyse Levesque in the remainder of 2013?  Anything big in the works that we should know about?

EL: Just working on getting our short film going and then am going to be putting up a play called “Burn This” by Lanford Wilson in Atwater Village, LA sometime before the holidays.

Official Website:  http://elyselevesqueofficial.com

Elyse on Twitter:  @atleastlevesque

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the internet’s finest in user generated content.

Meehan

One thought on “5 QUESTIONS WITH ELYSE LEVESQUE

Leave a Reply

