5 QUESTIONS WITH CARMEN LYNCH

by Ryan Meehan

Carmen Lynch made her late-night debut in 2012 on The Late Show with David Letterman. She’s also been a semi-finalist on two seasons of Last Comic Standing, performed for the troops in Iraq and Kuwait, and toured throughout Spain telling jokes in Spanish. She was recently seen on Comedy Central’s “Inside Amy Schumer”, and she’s our guest today in 5 Questions.  

RM:  What made you want to get into an industry where you tell jokes in front of complete strangers for a living?

CL: I never thought I’d tell jokes in front of complete strangers for a living – it kind of happened by accident. After college I worked at a bank, so I thought I’d be spending most of my days sitting at a desk. But like many comedians, the minute I tried stand-up I was hooked. Also, I think being impatient can be a plus. I tried acting and I was frustrated because I wasn’t getting on stage much, so I took a stand-up class and that forced me to get on stage. And living in NYC I found a plethora of open mics. It didn’t matter where I was – even telling jokes at a hamburger joint in front of 5 people was still “performing”.

RM:  Could you tell us a little bit about this show called “Herlarious” with Wanda Sykes?  How did you come into contact with her?

CL: I went to the semi-finals in the last season of Last Comic Standing and one of the producers on LCS was a producer on Herlarious. She asked me if I wanted to be on a special with Wanda Sykes. I’ve always been a fan of Wanda as well as Curb Your Enthusiasm. It was one of those gigs you get where you just feel lucky because it just comes to you and of course you want to do it.

RM:  What time of the day or week do you find that you do most of your writing?

CL: I’m most alert in the morning or early afternoon. After that my brain doesn’t work much. Sometimes I’m productive when I don’t have much else to do – like in a hotel room on the road or on a flight. Or at the airport because I tend to get there too early.

RM:  Is the late night TV thing as intimidating as it looks?  Was it relieving to you as soon as it was over?

CL: It’s intimidating at first, when you can’t believe you “might” be doing a set on late night TV. But when you know you’re close and it’s just a matter of when, then you’re just thrilled.  The actual taping is exciting, and quick. It’s scarier after you’ve taped and you’re just waiting for it to air, because then you’re doubting yourself…asking yourself questions like: “did that go well? I think so.” and then you’re just waiting for the rest of the world to see it and until it airs you’re just replaying the whole thing in your head.

RM:  What’s up next for Carmen Lynch in the year to come?  Anything big planned that we should know about?

CL:  At this point I just want to continue discovering new sides of myself on stage. And maybe some other stuff. We’ll see.

Official Website: http://www.carmenlynch.com/

Carmen on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CarmenComedian

Carmen on Twitter: https://twitter.com/lynchcarmen

Carmen on Letterman:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=872q6syb8GQ

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the finest in user generated content.

Meehan

One thought on “5 QUESTIONS WITH CARMEN LYNCH

  1. Pingback: David Letterman Leaves Late Night Television | First Order Historians

Leave a Reply

