7 Questions with Rod Man

rodMan

by Ryan Meehan

Comedian Rod Man is truly a gem in the world of standup comedy today. Gifted with a unique delivery, his voice captures audiences’ attention immediately. Throw in his laid back style, that southern charm and wit and the ability to find the funny in everyday life, and you have the ingredients for a future Comedy Star in the making Rod Man got hooked on comedy watching Russell Simmons’ Def Comedy Jam, where he saw the likes of Martin Lawrence, Chris Tucker, and the late, great Bernie Mac perform. It was then he knew what he wanted to do with the rest of his life. “Watching comedy made me feel good, so I figured why not try to be the one making other people feel good. So he signed up for open mic nights at Atlanta’s Uptown Comedy Club, hosted by the hilarious Earthquake. “Uptown was the place to be on Tuesday nights. The place was packed. You never knew who would stop in and do a guest spot. And you never really knew when you were going to hit the stage, because the list meant absolutely nothing to Earthquake.” Since those open mic nights, Rod has become an award-winning, quintessential entertainer. He has graced the stage at Caesar’s Place, The Gibson Amphitheater, and The Apollo Theater. Comedy Central gave him his own half hour special. And he has made many other television appearances, among them “The Bad Boys of Comedy” for HBO, Martin Lawrence’s “First Amendment” for Starz, Nick Cannon’s “Wild ‘N Out” for MTV, “One Mic Stand” for BET, “The Funny Spot” for TV One, and “The World Stands Up” for BBC America and The Monique Show. Rod can be seen on the big screen in Judd Apatow’s “Funny People” starring Adam Sandler and Seth Rogen for Universal Pictures. He even co-hosted a morning drive-time show in Los Angeles on Stevie Wonder owned KJLH Radio 102.3 FM. The world is catching on to what true Rod Man fans already know……………He’s down to earth, crazy-funny, and truly a special talent. And he’s also our guest today in 7 questions.

RM:  You have a very unique delivery…Where do you think you developed a style that is so different?  When you first started out were you as calm and low key as you are now?

RM: Thank you… No I was not as calm and low key as I am now… I was like a crazy drunk man talking a mile a minute…. lots of mumbling, mumbling, mumbling but it was funny mumbling.  As far as developing a different style I wouldn’t say I set out to develop a unique style, it just kind of happened and people seem to enjoy my joke presentation style. I do think that style is important in comedy – kind of like boxing.

RM:  I saw a video of you on Comedy Crock Pot where you were performing and there were people in the background sitting at a bar…Is it awkward to do standup when you know there are people behind you?

RM: Very awkward and annoying…  I don’t like people on the stage with me when I’m performing unless they are a part of the show. I work alone!!!… That’s usually an overzealous producer that thinks it’s cool and hip to have people on stage like it’s the Price is Right…So not cool.

RM:  How do you pass the time when you’re on the road?  Do you do any writing of material while on the road or is that something that you feel more comfortable doing only while at home?

RM: Yes I write different ideas down that I have for stuff…. I work out usually in the hotel gym or a local gym in the city. I try to go to some local attraction and eat some local food so I’ll have some type of connection and local experience.

RM:  What’s the biggest problem facing the industry of standup comedy at the moment?  Do you worry about something like that or because it’s part of your profession to make people laugh do you try not to think of those things?

RM: I don’t see any big issues facing stand-up comedy… it’s still stand up…. it’s you, a microphone a stool and the people. You have to be funny to survive as a stand-up. Now you might not be funny to everybody but you gotta find an audience that’s willing to listen to you over and over and over again.  They laugh… You funny… if not you gotta reevaluate some things.  I don’t worry I just surround myself with good people funny people.  I like to laugh too and keep it moving.

RM:  How much of standup comedy to you is being a good storyteller?  Do you think that a lot of younger comedians sometimes overlook that aspect because they’re so focused on killing?  When do you consider a story to be “too long” for comedy?

RM: Being a good storyteller is part of the equation but timing and delivery play a part too.  I don’t watch a lot of young comedians to comment on if they are overlooking that, but I think you should always play with different styles when you’re first starting out. A story is too long for comedy when there’s no more comedy in it.

RM:  When you saw your Comedy Central Presents for the first time, how critical were you of yourself?  Are you the type of guy who watches video clips of him self and constantly tries to pick out every tiny nuance in their stage act in order to improve it?

RM: Oh man I was very critical from…. why did I pick that backdrop with the question marks?  To who picked that jacket out?  Didn’t enjoy it at all. Everybody told me it was good but I couldn’t watch. Yes I am a little tedious sometimes like that – I’m constantly tweaking material.

RM:  What’s the one thing in the entertainment industry that you’d love to do, but haven’t had the opportunity to do yet?  Do you think that in ten years you’ll be able to say that you’ve done it?

RM: If I had to pick one thing it would be starring in a funny movie a la Richard Pryor or Eddie Murphy. Yes, I think I will have a few opportunities to say that.

RM:  What’s up next for you in 2014?  Anything big in the works that we should know about?

RM: Up next 2014….. Gotta BIG Tour coming this year… I have a CD coming out “That Good Funny” Vol.1 One –Hour DVD Special this year. I have 2 web series one called TimeOut with Rod Man and another called Sweat and Balls Sports/Entertainment shows that we are looking to expand too TV and a few other surprises that we have planned.

Official Website:  http://rodmancomedy.com/

Rod on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/rodmancomedy

Rod on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/rodmancomedy

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the internet’s finest in user generated content.

Meehan

3 thoughts on “7 Questions with Rod Man

  1. Pingback: 2014: The Year the World Didn’t End Again, Part One | First Order Historians

Leave a Reply

