7 Questions with Erin Foley

000ef000

By Ryan Meehan

Erin Foley is an amazing comedic actress, comedian, and writer. Just this year, she made her stand-up debut on Conan, did a guest star on the NBC series Go On, and also performed stand-up on TV Guide’s inaugural series Stand-up In Stilettos hosted by Kate Flannery of The Office and Comedy Central’s new series Mash Up hosted by TJ Miller.  As a seasoned comedian, she also has a Comedy Central Presents under her belt, as well as having been on Premium Blend, Chelsea Lately and The Kilborn File. In New York and Los Angeles, Erin can be regularly seen at Gotham Comedy Club, Caroline’s on Broadway, The Improv, The Laugh Factory and Stand Up New York. She has performed at the San Francisco Sketch Fest, Just for Laughs/TBS Comedy Festival in Chicago and the Moontower Comedy Festival in Austin. Foley has had the honor of being selected to perform at the prestigious Montreal Comedy Festival three times. Additionally, Erin has also had roles in Curb Your Enthusiasm, the acclaimed Tribeca Film Fest short Cried Suicide, and even a supporting role in Almost Famous. Erin has branded a unique position for herself in the industry as not only a gifted stand-up but a talented actress. Her versatility makes her one of the most sought-after women working the comedy scene today and she’s our guest today in 7 questions. 

RM:  Not too long ago, you had a great appearance on the Arsenio Hall Show…You also appeared on Conan last year as well – How were those two experiences different from each other?  Do you learn something new with pretty much every television appearance or does it eventually become sort of routine?

EF: I definitely learn something new each time. Both experiences were fantastic and I hope telling jokes on national television never becomes routine!! It was my second time appearing on Conan which really helped calm my nerves. I could visualize the set, the pre taping routine, etc. I know a lot of the writers who stopped in before the taping which was really sweet and talking to Conan after the show about our Irish Catholic upbringing was a dream sequence. The Arsenio Hall experience came out of the blue. They had me on their radar for a future date, then someone canceled and I got the call the night before! It was crazy. But after 14 years, I felt like I could pull something together and make it work (that’s why you always have to keep writing new jokes all the time). From the moment I walked into the building, everyone one from hair and make up to the producer was so fun and ridiculously accommodating. Arsenio loves stand up comedy and it really showed. He went out of his way to address the crowd before I took the stage. Honestly, I never thought I could have so much fun doing a late night set because of the pressure, but it was an absolute (unexpected) blast! I’m such a huge fan of Arsenio Hall.

RM:  When you do work on something such as your role as Ally in “Cried Suicide”, do you ever wish that you could go further and expand on that character?  In other words, do you think that the audience can really get the feel of what is meant for a character’s destiny in just fourteen short minutes?

EF: I loved my insane character in “Cried Suicide”. I wish there was more time for all her crazy, but maybe that’s the beauty of a short film. The actor as well as the audience can daydream about her future. Working with all those fantastic women on the film was one of my favorite experiences.

RM:  Do you consider stand-up comedy to be more of an art form or a science?  Do you think that it can almost be somewhat dependent on the performer themselves, or is it a state of mind and/or method of approach?

EF: It’s definitely an art form. It’s extremely difficult to really analyze or even explain stand up comedy. There are so many different factors that can make or break each set which almost makes it feel statistically impossible! The performer, the material, the audience, the room, the lighting, the sound, what moods people are in, etc. When you really break it down, I’m literally walking into a room of strangers and delivering some thoughts that made me laugh. So crazy. And so addicting.

RM:  What’s the most bizarre thing that’s happened to you in all of your time traveling around the country doing comedy?

EF:  I met a fan named Erin Foley and she came to a show. She was gay, loved sports and wanted to get into comedy. Thankfully she was really sweet so I didn’t have to cancel the show and hire the secret service.

RM:  You’re strongly opposed to the act of declawing…What is it that people need to know about declawing and why do you think that’s a procedure that is still being offered by veterinary hospitals today?

EF: I had a roommate briefly when I moved to LA and she left for New York and never came back for her cat. So I adopted the cat – Peanut Foley – and he’s declawed. I never even knew people declawed cats, it’s so horrifying. It’s like removing people’s fingers, it’s inhumane. If you’re worried about a cat scratching up your furniture than get a bird. Don’t be an asshole.

RM:  According to a picture I saw of you on Twitter you are a New York Giants fan, which is something that you and I have in common.  What do you think of the moves they’ve made this offseason so far (particularly the acquisitions of Broncos CB Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie and Seahawks CB Walter Thurmond) and what do you think that their record will be in the 2014 season?  Do you think they’ll make the playoffs?

EF: I’ve been obsessed with the New York Giants since I was a little kid. Growing up my dream in life was to play wide receiver for the G-men. It’s still my dream. It probably won’t happen because I have a bad back. This was the busiest off-season the Giants have ever had and I love it. When you start a season 0-6 it’s safe to say you need to make some changes. I think all our moves – yes I say our because I’m part of the team – make a lot of football sense, nothing too flashy, needs were met. We will either go 8-8 or win the Super Bowl.

RM:  What’s the one thing that you’d love to do in the entertainment industry that you haven’t had the opportunity to do yet? In ten years, do you think that you’ll be able to say you’ve done it?

EF: My dream is to be in some sort of comedic scene with Lilly Tomlin or Steve Martin. I could also replace “comedic scene” with “having a beer”. I will make it happen or get arrested trying.

Official Website:  http://erinkfoley.com/

Erin on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/erinkfoley

Erin on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/erinfoleycomic

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the internet’s finest in user generated content.

Meehan

 

Leave a Reply

