7 Questions with Scott White

00000000000000000000000scottwhite

by Ryan Meehan

A native of Dearborn, Michigan Scott has spent the last eight years honing his stand-up comedy act among the many talented comics in Houston, TX. Scott has worked on comedy stages across the country with both the BEST and worst comedians in the business. He has also had the pleasure of entertaining our troops in Korea, Japan and Guam.  You can also hear Scott’s CD, “Dirty White Boy”, on XM Satellite Radio. This high energy comic still leaves the audience hysterical with laughter when heading out the exit door, and that’s just one of many reasons why we are happy to have comedian Scott White as our guest today in 7 questions.

RM:  What was the first comedic performance you saw on television that drew you to the art form?  Was there any specific joke you remember from that production which you tried to dissect and figure out why people found it to be humorous?

SW: My mother was a huge M*A*S*H fan…I remember her laughing so hard, especially at McClean Stevenson during the first seasons.   After seeing her laugh, I knew I wanted to make her laugh.  I know it is not popular to say right now, but Bill Cosby  “Himself “ was the first stand up performance that I saw that made me want to do stand up.  I have never tried to figure out how a joke works.   I just know if it does or doesn’t…If it does I use it.  If it doesn’t, I work on it or lose it.

RM:  How would you best describe your first experience on stage?  Was it something that you initially struggled with; or could you tell coming off of your first open mic that this was going to be something you would be really good?

SW :  I first did stand up with a partner…I didn’t  have the guts to do it myself.   We entered a contest and did really well.  So, being a novice I thought we needed all new material for the final.  I tried to write a new 10 minutes in a week.  Needless to say we bombed, and afterwards I stayed away from stand up for 7 years.  My first time back as a solo artist I knew I could do it.

RM:  Do you feel like you are more comfortable doing stand-up or improv?  What are the advantages and drawbacks with regards to each method of making people laugh?

SW: I am more comfortable doing stand up, because it is just me.  I can control the whole thing.  With improv, you have to rely on others…the advantage of stand up is it is all mine.  The laughs.  The drawback is that it’s a lot of the same material night after night.  The advantage of improv is I can set up a laugh, and I can play characters.  There is nothing more satisfying than getting a laugh with something right off the top of my head.  The drawback is if you get in a scene that is going nowhere…it is death…and you just have to wait it out.

RM:  What’s the biggest difference between the comedy scene in Houston and the one in Michigan?  Why did you feel like relocating was the right move for you?

SW:  Well, I did not start comedy until I moved to Houston.   The scene was hopping when I started about 17 years ago…It dried up for a while, but now it is making a comeback.

RM:  Why would you say that the Comedy Sportz model seems to be such a perfect fit for what you do?  What’s the best part of being able to work with that organization?

SW: ComedySportz (which is now CSz) works for me because it lets me be silly, and if you can be silly and be accepted – that is a great feeling.  The best part of CSz is the comradery.  Everyone is really positive and everyone is very supportive.   Stand ups can be cynical, these people in CSz are all about the positivity.

RM:  Out of all of the national headliners you’ve had the opportunity to open up for, who did you seem to connect with the most; and why do you think you got along so well with that individual?

SW:  I worked with Bobcat Goldthwait.  He was really nice and not at all hung up on his popularity.   He took me out to dinner after the show…he told me that even after he was dead he was still mistaken for Sam Kinison.  He also promoted my CD from the stage, which boosted my sales that week.

RM:  Which aspect of the writing process to you tend to struggle with the most and why? Conversely, which aspect of writing jokes would you consider to be your specialty; and why do you think you excel at that particular component of the practice?

SW:  The aspect that I struggle with is writing every day.  A lot of comics fuel their creativity with writing.  With me doing improv that gets my creativity satisfied and may make a bit lazy when it comes to writing.   What I do best is taking every day events and putting a comic turn on it.  If people can identify with a joke, they enjoy it more.  And when it comes to improv my specialty is puns.

RM:  What’s up next for you in the remainder of 2015 and beyond?  Anything big in the works that we should know about?

SW:  Well I will be at CSz Quad Cities May 2nd.  I have a big tour of Canada this summer which I am excited about.   Other than that I am just chugging along trying to get work whenever I can.  I am always happy when I am working.

Official Website:  http://www.scottyblanco.com/

Scott on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/scottwhite91

Scott on Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/scottericblanco

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the internet’s finest in user generated content.

Meehan

One thought on “7 Questions with Scott White

  1. Performing with Scott — a fellow Michigan native, is one of my favorite things! He’s a guy that really appreciates different forms of comedy, and it’s always a bit of a roller coaster ride when he’s on stage. One of the best!

Leave a Reply

