A Few Brief Notes About Our Upcoming NFL Coverage

nflfootball

by Ryan Meehan

We’re only two short days away from the official start of the 2015 NFL season, and this year promises to be full of surprises. This year we’re making a few adjustments to the way we’ll be covering the leagues, and I figured since we had a day off I’d address some of those changes. Truth be told, I have a lot on my plate these days. And if you’ve seen me in person lately, you’d know that I lick that plate clean before I head back to the buffet to grab another one. Good grief I am overweight. Anyhoo, I really have been pretty busy with several different projects so I wanted to make this year a little bit easier on myself as well as the reader. Having said that, here are a couple of changes you might notice in this year’s pieces.

1) This year there won’t be anymore wrap-up pieces on Tuesdays. We all can look up the scores, and by that point you probably have them memorized anyway. Tuesday will now be reserved for pieces that are related to one specific incident that happened in the games the previous weekend, unless that can be covered in the intro to the preview pieces which will still appear on Thursdays.

2) The preview pieces will be a little bit shorter. Here again, you can get a lot of that information elsewhere and our focus here needs to be on humor. You probably can’t tell that from this dreadfully depressing post, but that’s the direction I’d like to see this website head in from this point forward.

3) The lines are going to stay there. Like it or not, some people gamble and it’s a huge part of the pro football machine. I don’t put money on games, but if I did I would sure as hell want as many opinions on the upcoming week’s contests as possible to make sure who to take to cover what and the like. It’s a science in and of itself, and I don’t have to put a house payment on a Jags/Titans game to be interested in it.

4) If you are reading this and you ever want to do picks, buy all means contact me at quadcitiesprofessional at hotmail dot com. I spelled that out in order to avoid being attacked by spammers, and yes I realize that it quite potentially is the most ridiculous email address in the history of the world. The thing is, westmolinesmostpretentiousdouchebag@gmail.com wasn’t available, and I wanted to go with some thing that had a much more buttoned-up feeling to it so that I could get ahead in the business world. (So far, it hasn’t worked) I’d like to see more people do picks with me this year, mostly because I’d like to see more people get involved and hear some outside opinions on the game I love.

In closing, let me just say this:  I really do appreciate everybody who takes the time out of their day to stop by and check out the website. I kind of fell into this by accident, and it’s sort of taken over my life and I’m okay with that. I have absolutely no kind of formal journalistic background at all, and I’m kind of impressed by how we’ve been able to keep this thing going for so long.

Once again thanks for visiting First Order Historians and enjoying more of the internet’s finest in user generated content.

Meehan

2 thoughts on “A Few Brief Notes About Our Upcoming NFL Coverage

Leave a Reply

